CMS4i - CymCMS Content Management System Help

Groups & Users: Overview
One of the most important and powerful features in cymCMS® is its ability to control access to content and administrative duties. The group and user modules combine to allow an individual, or group, access to parts of your site. Not only does the group and user module control access to the web site, but it also controls access to the administration area. This gives site administrators the power to delegate management of the site to others, with limited powers and access.
Groups & Users: Assigning Roles to Groups & Users
cymCMS manages user security, roles and access levels by assigning users to Groups. These groups are assigned different access levels or rights within the system, depending on what you intend the Group's role to be.

By creating and defining groups (see Add a Group or Modify a Group), you will be able to control how users manage the different modules within cymCMS.

By assigning users to a group (see Add a User or Modify a User), the users will be able to perform their roles based on the access level defined in that group.

Groups & Users: View Groups
  1. Click on the Groups menu.  The Groups View page displays the group names and the Active flag ("Yes" indicates that the Group is approved to be published on the web site).
  2. To view detailed information for a particular group (e.g., members of the group and their module permissions), click on the Group Name. 

Additional Notes (display and navigation):

  1. To set the maximum groups to be listed per page, click the down arrow on the Display (per page) box and select a value 
  2. To navigate to a specific page, click the down arrow on the Page box and select a value
  3. To navigate to the next page, click the Next Page link.
  4. To navigate to the previous page, click the Previous Page link.
Groups & Users: Add a Group
  1. Click on the Groups menu.  The Groups View page displays.
  2. Click the Add button at the top.   The Add Users page displays.
  3. In the Add Group area, click in the Group Name box and type the name of the group you want to create.
  4. To approve this group to be published in the web site, select the Active option.
  5. To assign user members to this group, select the user in the Non-Members list then click >> to move the user to the Members list.  You can assign multiple members to a group.
  6. In the Permissions In... area, you can select Member permissions (View/Add/Edit/Delete/Approve) for each module (Sections, Articles, Pages, etc...).  
  7. To add the group, click the Add button.  To cancel, click the Cancel button. 
Required Group Assignments:  To have access to a private part of the web site, a user MUST at very least be assigned to the "users" group.  To have access to the Admin area of the web site, a user MUST at very least be assigned to the "admin" group.

Groups & Users: Find a Group
  1. Click on the Groups menu.  
  2. Click in the search box next to the Find button and type the name of the group (or any part of the name) you want to find. 
  3. Click the Find button.  The search results are listed.  If no matches are found, the message "Nothing Found" displays.
  4. To view group details (e.g., status, members, permissions), click on the group name.
     
Groups & Users: Modify a Group
  1. Click on the Groups menu.  
  2. Click in the check box next to the group to select the group you want to modify.
  3. Make changes (e.g., change Group Name, Active status, or Permissions).
  4. To save your changes, click the Update button.  To exit without saving changes, click Cancel.
Groups & Users: Delete a Group
  1. Click on the Groups menu. 
  2. To select the group you want to delete, click in the checkbox next to the group name.
  3. Click the Delete button.
  4. To confirm the deletion, click Delete.  To cancel the deletion, click Cancel.
Groups & Users: View Users
  1. Click on the Users menu.  The User View page displays the following information:
Username:  the user login name
Email:  the user's email address
Validated Email:  Yes indicates the user's email address has been validated
Active: Yes indicates the user has been approved
Pending:  Yes indicates the user has not yet been approved
  1. To set the maximum rows to list per page, select an option from the Display (per page) drop down list box.
  2. To navigate to a specific page, select an option from the Page drop down list box. 
Groups & Users: Add a User
  1. Click on the Users menu.  The User View page displays.
  2. Click the Add button on the toolbar.
  3. Enter the following required information:  Username, Password, and Email address.  
  4. Select a Status option:  "Active" (indicates approved for publishing) or "Pending" (indicates pending approval).
  5. Enter the user's First name and Last name.
  6. To assign the user to a group, select the group in the Non-Members column (e.g., Content Editors) then click the >> button to move the selection to the Members list.  You may assign a user to more than one group via this method.
  7. To add the new user, click the Add button.  To exit without saving, click the Cancel button.
Groups & Users: Find a User
  1. Click on the Users menu.
  2. In the search box next to the Find button, type the username (or part of it) that you are searching for. 
  3. Click the Find button.  A generic search retrieves the matching records. 
Note:  To view user details (e.g., email address, status, roles, etc...), click on the username.
Groups & Users: Modify a User (e.g. password, email, status,...)
  1. Click on the Users menu.
  2. Click on the Username (e.g. Author).    
  3. Make changes (e.g., modify Password, Email, Status, First name, Last name, or User Groups membership (i.e, Members List).
  4. You can click the Expiry button to view or update User Expiration Dates.
  5. To save changes, click the Update button.  To exit without saving, click the Cancel button.
Groups & Users: Delete a User
  1. Click on the Users menu.
  2. Click in the checkbox next to the username to select it. 
  3. Click the Delete button.
  4. To confirm the deletion, click OK.  To cancel the deletion, click Cancel.

Contents